Blogger/Writer at
Lifestyle Blog.
Sharing how we’re loving life and living it to the fullest!
Three boys, one dog, one chinchilla…Sometimes, you just have to STOP…and Count To Ten.

Shall we talk about the Outlander Series by Diana Gabaldon.  When I downloaded the first book to my Nook, I was in SHOCK that it had SO many pages.  BUT…at least you get your money’s worth.   I instantly loved the characters…the history of Scotland, the love story between Claire and Jamie.  I’m currently on the fourth book.

Here’s the series in order:


Dragonfly in Amber


The Fiery Cross

A Breath of Snow and Ashes

An Echo in the Bone


The First book in the series, Outlander, is full of history, medicine, sex, violence, hope, despair, honor, horses, herbs, voyages, and SO much more.  It starts in 1946 where Claire Randall, just returned from war where she was an army nurse.  After being separated from her husband for so long, they are on a second honeymoon to get re-acquainted.  While visiting in Scotland, Claire goes out walking alone, looking at different herbs, and stumbles upon a circle of standing stones.  She touches the stones..and is transported back in time to 1743 where she’ll meet Frank’s ancestor (her husband), she will discover Jamie, a man she HAD to marry in that time (but, later falls in love with)….and it just gets better.  So many characters…so much history…you’ll just love this book.

There are some scandalous scenes (but, nothing that I’d rate higher than PG-13).  If you haven’t read this series…and it sounds like your kind of book, give it a try.  If you HAVE read it, I’d love to know what you thought of the first book and the whole series.

I’m currently on the fourth book, Voyager, and on page 846.  I can’t wait to finish this one and get on with the next one.

WARNING….you will stay up WAY too late reading these books.